(1/26 - 5/23)
Miramar College Library
Mon - Thu | 8am - 8pm
Fri | 8am - Noon
Sat & Sun | CLOSED
(Closed on Holidays)
Call the Miramar College Library
Email the Library
A Short Guide to Research
- First, review your assignment thoroughly and choose a topic.
- Next, start gathering information right away - don't procrastinate!
- Begin by navigating to the Miramar College home page.
- Find background information in print books, eBooks and Reference databases.
- As you read about your topic, increase your searching power by jotting down keywords and their synonyms, names of people, places and events.
- Add more specific or up-to-date information by searching the library databases. (Log on with your your Miramar ID and last name to research when off campus.)
- Email a librarian or stop by for after-hours help with research, citations, library policies, and more.
Recommended Databases for ENGL 101
Access the following databases by clicking on Articles & Databases on the library's homepage, then click on the appropriate tab. From off campus, log on with your CSID number and last name. The following databases are good for most topics, as they cover a variety of subject areas.
- SIRS Knowledge Source
SIRS is a relatively easy database to search and also a good place to find a topic.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, authoritative reports on topics such as health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
- EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier
There are several databases listed; Academic Search Premier covers a range of topics; depending on your topic, one of the other specialized databases might be useful, such as GreenFILE for environmental issues, or Health Source: Nursing/Academic for health-related topics.
ProQuest provides articles from magazines, newspapers and peer-reviewed journals in most subject areas.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Virtual Reference Library provides articles from authoritative online encyclopedias. It can be a good source to find background information on most topics such as art, biography, history, medicine, and social sciences.
Articles in JSTOR are only from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Write a persuasive research paper in which you take a stand (stated in your thesis/argument) and prove it with credible support that you find in academic, expert-written sources.
The paper must be 7-8 pages, using 6-8 sources, including 2 hard copies of books, not just online sources.